Our 3StepDivorceTM Online Divorce for Rhode Island is offered with a peace-of-mind 100% guarantee.
We offer a 100% guarantee that the documents provided will be accepted by the Rhode Island courts to finalize your divorce.
In the event that the documents provided are not accepted by the Rhode Island court due to the fault of 3StepDivorceTM, you will be provided a 100% refund (with no handling fee).
Our support staff will always give each individual customer personal attention should they have difficulty. We have both e-mail and phone support. This being said, prior to issuing a refund, we reserve the right to meet any courts requests regarding changes to the documents.
Rhode Island Residency Requirements
No complaint for divorce from the bond of marriage shall be granted unless the plaintiff has been a domiciled inhabitant of this state and has resided in this state for a period of one year next before the filing of the complaint. The divorce would be filed in the county in which the plaintiff resides or in the county in which the defendant resides if he or she meets the 1 years residency requirement. (General Laws of Rhode Island - Title 15 , Chapter 15-5-12)
Rhode Island Divorce Grounds:
(1) Irreconcilable differences which have caused the breakdown of the marriage. (2) Living separate and apart without cohabitation for 3 years. (General Laws of Rhode Island - Title 15 , Chapters 15-5-2 15-5-3, 15-5-3.1 1505-5)
Rhode Island Property and Debt Division
The court will consider the following when making a property award: (A) The duration of the marriage; (B) The conduct of the parties during the marriage; (C) The contribution of each of the parties during the marriage in the acquisition, preservation, or appreciation in value of their respective estates; (D) The contribution and services of either party as a homemaker; (E) The health and age of the parties; (F) The amount and sources of income of each of the parties; (G) The occupation and employability of each of the parties; (H) The opportunity of each party for future acquisition of capital assets and income; (I) The contribution by one party to the education, training, license, business, or increased earning power of the other; (J) The need of the custodial parent to occupy or own the marital residence and to use or own its household effects taking into account the best interests of the children of the marriage; (K) Either party's wasteful dissipation of assets or any transfer or encumbrance of assets made in contemplation of divorce without fair consideration; and (L) Any factor which the court shall expressly find to be just and proper. (General Laws of Rhode Island - Title 15 , Chapter 15-5-16.1)
Rhode Island Spousal Support, Maintenance, or Alimony:
In determining the amount of alimony the court shall consider: (1) The length of the marriage; (2) The conduct of the parties during the marriage; (3) The health, age, station, occupation, amount and source of income, vocational skills, and employability of the parties; and (4) The state and the liabilities and needs of each of the parties. (5) The extent to which either party is unable to support herself or himself adequately; (6) The extent to which a party was absent from employment while fulfilling homemaking responsibilities, and the extent to which any education, skills, or experience of that party have become outmoded and his or her earning capacity diminished; (7) The time and expense required for the supported spouse to acquire the appropriate education or training to develop marketable skills and find appropriate employment; (8) The probability, given a party's age and skills, of completing education or training and becoming self-supporting; (9) The standard of living during the marriage; (10) The opportunity of either party for future acquisition of capital assets and income; (11) The ability to pay of the supporting spouse, taking into account the supporting spouse's earning capacity, earned and unearned income, assets, debts, and standard of living; (12) Any other factor which the court expressly finds to be just and proper. (General Laws of Rhode Island - Title 15 , Chapter 15-5-16)
Rhode Island Custody and Visitation:
The court will rule on a custody decision with the best interests at the forefront of the decision. In regulating the custody of the children, the court shall provide for the reasonable right of visitation by the natural parent not having custody of the children, except upon the showing of cause why the right should not be granted. The court shall mandate compliance with its order by both the custodial parent and the children. In the event of noncompliance, the noncustodial parent may file a motion for contempt in family court. Upon a finding by the court that its order for visitation has not been complied with, the court shall exercise its discretion in providing a remedy, and define the noncustodial parent's visitation in detail. However, if a second finding of noncompliance by the court is made, the court shall consider this to be grounds for a change of custody to the noncustodial parent.
Rhode Island Child Support:
After calculating support based upon court established formula and guidelines, the court, sahll consider all relevant factors including, but not limited to: (a) The financial resources of the child; (b) The financial resources of the custodial parent; (c) The standard of living the child would have enjoyed had the marriage not been dissolved; (d) The physical and emotional condition of the child and his or her educational needs; and (5) The financial resources and needs of the non-custodial parent. (General Laws of Rhode Island - Title 15 , Chapter 15-5-16, 15-5-16.2 15-5-22)
How Do I Know if I Should File in Rhode Island?
One would typically file for divorce in the state in which he or she or his or her spouse resides. If you have recently moved to a new state and wish to file in that new state, you may have to establish residency prior to filing.
If you are in the military and are stationed on a base outside your residency state, you typically are able to file in that state or in your residency state.
If you are in the military and are stationed overseas, you would typically file in your home residency state.
Can I Use 3StepDivorceTM if I Have Children?
Yes. The system and your documents will address all the issues regarding your children such as, but not limited to; custody arrangements, visitation and time-sharing, child support, and medical coverage.
How Much Are the Rhode Island Filing and/or Court Fees?
The filing and/or court fees are not included in our fee and typically range from $50.00 to $350.00 in total depending on your location of filing and whether or not you have children. The 3StepDivorce service will typically help you yield the lowest filing fee for you because both you and your spouse are in agreement.
How Long Will the Process Take in Rhode Island?
The process takes an average of less than 1 hour to answer the required questions and generate the documents. Once you file your documents with the court according the filing procedures, the length of time will vary depending on the number of cases in front of yours. Each court has only one or just a few Judges, Masters, or Referees to review all the pending cases.
Should I File or Should My Spouse File?
As a rule of thumb, for uncontested divorces, the spouse who really wants the divorce to be finalized typically does the filing.
Where and How Do I File My Documents?
The documents are filed at your local county courthouse in the family law or domestic relations division or department. Inside your account you will receive step-by-step filing procedures.
Can I Mail or Fax My Documents to the Clerk?
Many courts do permit you to mail and/or fax the documents. This will vary from county to county and state to state, so it will be best to check with the clerk at the courthouse when you are ready to file.
Do I Have to Go to Court in Rhode Island?
Depending on your state and your situation, you may or may not have to attend a short hearing. Most of the time when a hearing is required, it only lasts 10-15 minutes and only the filing spouse must attend. The hearing is where you will be granted your divorce and the judge will sign the final judgment or decree.
Do I Have to Also Hire a Lawyer?
3StepDivorce is designed for you to do your own uncontested divorce without hiring a lawyer. You will be acting as your own lawyer and filing for your own divorce. Should you need or desire legal advice or should your divorce become contested, we do suggest you hire the services of a lawyer.
Will My Name Also Be Changed?
The wife has the option to change her name back to her former or maiden name through the 3StepDivorce solution.
When is the Divorce Actually Finalized in Rhode Island?
The divorce is typically finalized when the Judge signs the final judgment or decree. We give a window of 30-90 days from the filing date, but this will vary due to case load at the courthouse and any mandatory waiting periods.
Rhode Island Forms: Our question and answer technology will allow you to easily complete your Rhode Island divorce forms for an uncontested divorce. Our goal is to give you full control and make "doing your own divorce", fast, easy, and affordable.Rhode Island Divorce Forms List
|See if you qualify & create account!|
|Answer the questions at your own pace.|
|Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).|
A total of 113 people have started their divorce through 3StepDivorceTM in the last 24 hours and 811 in the last 10 days. The streamlined and user-friendly process, instant document delivery, and unlimited free support makes us the go-to solution to do your own divorce. Our simple and inexpensive process provides you with all your completed divorce papers in as little as 20 minutes. Instantly access your completed divorce forms after a short online interview. It is that easy, no lengthy completion or delivery times.
This easy to use online divorce is a "do it yourself (without a lawyer)"
solution for any uncontested divorce (with or without children) that
will be filed in the state of Rhode Island. An uncontested divorce is
one in which you and your spouse are in agreement and eliminates the
stress and expense of settling your divorce in court.
With 3StepDivorce TM you can complete and print your Rhode Island divorce forms (including a marital settlement agreement) instantly. Follow our step-by-step filing procedures to file your own divorce in a timely, professional, and hassle free fashion. The online software is designed to give you full control of your divorce and also avoids the use of third party data entry, thus helping protect your personal information and privacy. If you're not ready to file for divorce in Rhode Island, learn more about getting your Separation Agreement .
Filing for divorce can seem overwhelming. Like starting almost any other legal proceeding, it takes finding the right forms, filling out the forms properly, and understanding the court’s requirements for the next steps you’ll need to take.
Traditionally, most people have hired a lawyer to take care of all the legal matters in their divorce. But more and more couples are turning to a much cheaper option that’s still easier than figuring out everything on their own: filing for divorce online.
If you want to know more, read on for answers to some of the most common questions about online divorce in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ takes care of the divorce paperwork for you. Once you sign up for the service, you’ll answer some questions about your situation. Based on your responses to the questionnaire, Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ will fill out the forms the state requires to start the divorce process, along with instructions for adding any further information that’s needed. You’ll be able to print out the forms yourself immediately or, if you prefer, get hard copies by mail.
UPDATE: 3StepDivorce™ for Rhode Island isn’t available right now, while we update our forms and services for Rhode Island. Check back soon at 3StepDivorce.com for current availability. In the meantime, you may be able to get divorce forms at the Rhode Island Judiciary’s website or the court clerk’s office in your county, and the information below can answer your questions about getting an uncontested divorce in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island has two basic requirements to file for divorce in the state: a residency requirement, and a legally recognized reason (“grounds”) for ending your marriage.
To get a divorce in Rhode Island, the filing spouse (the “plaintiff”), must be a resident of the state for at least one year immediately before filing. Alternatively, if the plaintiff doesn’t live in Rhode Island, the residency requirement can be met when the non-filing spouse (the “defendant”) has lived in the state for at least one year and is personally served with the divorce paperwork. (R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-5-12 (2022).)
Rhode Island allows both “no-fault” and “fault-based” divorces. When you file for a no-fault divorce, you don’t have to prove that your spouse was at fault for ending the marriage. There are two no-fault grounds for divorce in Rhode Island:
A fault-based divorce is based on a claim that your marriage is ending because your spouse engaged in a type of misconduct–for example, adultery, extreme cruelty, or continued drunkenness. (R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-5-2 (2022).)
Fault-based divorces are almost always more expensive and lengthy, because the spouse accused of misconduct is sure to fight the allegations. And in a no-fault divorce based on separation, the court will require proof that the spouses satisfy the requirement of living separate and apart. For these reasons, most Rhode Island couples who are getting divorced choose no-fault divorce based on irreconcilable differences.
Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ will provide services only for couples who are getting divorced based on irreconcilable differences.
Many Rhode Island residents are finding that they can file for divorce and get through the process without the expense of hiring a lawyer if they’re filing for an “uncontested divorce” (called a “nominal” divorce in Rhode Island). That means that they’ve agreed with each other about all of the legal issues in their divorce, including:
If you still have disagreements with your spouse about these or any other issues involved in ending your marriage, you’ll have to file for a traditional, contested divorce. Because that will involve legal battles and presenting evidence and arguments at court hearings, it would be risky to pursue a contested divorce without a lawyer to navigate the process for you—especially if your spouse has an attorney.
Once it’s available in your state, you may use Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ as long as you have an uncontested (“nominal”) divorce and meet the state’s residency requirement. You’ll need to have a written marital settlement agreement, signed by both you and your spouse, that covers all of the issues in your divorce. Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ will guide you through the process of creating this agreement, based on your answers to the questionnaire.
Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ can also help if you aren’t ready to file for divorce, but you want a separation agreement with your spouse. For instance, you might want to work out arrangements for support, custody of your children, who has to move out of the family home, and how to take care of the bills while you’re separated but still legally married.
Just because you haven’t been able to agree with your spouse about everything in your divorce, that doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to go through an expensive and time-consuming contested divorce. You could try divorce mediation. If you’re able to resolve your disagreements with the mediator’s help, you can then use Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ to prepare the written settlement agreement, along with the other divorce paperwork.
Generally, you can use Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ even when you have minor children with your spouse, as long as you agree on all of the issues related to your kids, including legal and physical custody, a parenting (visitation) schedule, child support, health and dental insurance, and tax deductions. Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ will allow you to address these issues in your settlement agreement. We provide a standard parenting schedule, but you’ll have an option of customizing the schedule to meet your individual needs.
However, you won’t be able to address custody-related issues with Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ if the affected child or children don’t meet the “home state” requirement. Usually, that means the child must have lived in Rhode Island with a parent (or a parent figure) during the entire six-month period before you file for divorce (or since birth if the child is younger than six months old). (R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-14.1-13 (2022).) If you don’t meet the six-month rule, you should speak with an attorney to find out whether you might qualify for one of the complicated exceptions to this rule.
In Rhode Island, both parents have an obligation to support their children. And like all states, Rhode Island has child support guidelines for calculating how much support the parents should pay, based largely on their incomes and custody arrangements.
Once it’s available in Rhode Island, 3StepDivorce™ will provide the Rhode Island Child Support Guideline Worksheets, so you can easily calculate the state's guideline level of support. You and your spouse may agree to an amount of child support that differs from the guideline amount, but the judge will need to review and approve your agreement. Rhode Island law requires that any time the amount of child support deviates from the guideline, the judge must find that applying the guideline would be “unjust or inappropriate” under the circumstances.
In your settlement agreement, you and your spouse may include child support provisions that aren’t legally required, such as a parent’s contributions to private school tuition or the cost of a child’s college education. You may also agree on some specific questions like which parent will claim the children as dependents on tax returns.
After your divorce in Rhode Island is final, you (or your spouse) may request every three years that the court review the child support order. You can also request a change in the amount of child support when you believe circumstances have changed significantly. The judge will review your request based on the same legal requirements for an original child support order.
If you want to save the time and expense of a court battle over a request to modify child support, you and your spouse may agree to a modification on your own. As a general rule, you’ll need to submit your agreement to a judge or child support agency.
You can find more information about modifying child support (and applicable forms) on the Rhode Island Office of Child Support Services’ website.
When you fill out your questionnaire for Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™, you’ll answer a series of questions about your separate and marital property and debts, including how you’ll divide your marital property and allocate responsibility for payment of the marital debts.
If you own a home with your spouse, your agreement can spell out what will happen to it when you get divorced. Here again, the questionnaire will include a few questions about the property and how you’ve chosen to deal with it, such as:
In your Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™, you may also agree on whether and how you’ll divide any retirement accounts that you and your spouse have, including 401(k)s, individual retirement accounts (IRAs), and defined-benefit pensions.
If you started contributing to the retirement plan before you were married, you’ll start by figuring out how much of its current value is marital property and how much is your separate property. There are experts and firms that will do this for you (for a fee, of course). The service is usually known as a pension appraisal or valuation. You’ll almost always need this kind of expert help when you’re dealing with a defined-benefit pension.
Once you know the marital value of your work-related retirement accounts, the easiest way to handle the division of the assets is not to split them but to transfer other assets as an offset. Here’s how that works: Say you have a 401(k) through your job, and the marital portion of the account is worth $100,000. If you and your spouse agree to divide that portion down the middle, and you have other marital assets to divide (such as a regular savings account), your spouse could receive an extra $50,000 from those assets while you keep the entire 401(k). That way, you don’t have to hire another expert to prepare the kind of special order that’s needed to tell the 401(k) administrator how to divide the account.
The rules are different for IRAs. You may simply agree to have your spouse’s share transferred to another IRA account in that spouse’s name. (You’ll have to submit a special form to the bank, along with a copy of your divorce decree.)
You and your spouse may waive any right to alimony in your Rhode Island divorce, or you may agree on the specifics of alimony payments: who will pay, how much, and for how long. Your agreement may also state whether a court could modify alimony at any time in the future, and it could cover related issues like health insurance and life insurance.
When you get your completed forms with Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™, your next step will be to file your paperwork. You’ll file in the family court in the county where you (the filing spouse) live. If you don’t live in Rhode Island, you can file the complaint in Providence County or the county where your spouse (the “defendant”) lives. (R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-5-13 (2022).)
If you can’t afford to pay the filing fee, you can request that the court waive the fees. To do this, file a Plaintiff/Petitioner’s Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis with the court clerk. If the court grants your motion, you won’t have to pay any court costs or fees during your divorce.
When you file an uncontested divorce in Rhode Island, your case is put on a “nominal track.” This means that your case will likely be resolved much faster than a case put on a contested track. The court clerk will schedule a nominal divorce hearing for 11 weeks from the date you file. (R.I. Fam. Ct. Admin. Ord. 2003-02.) As long as you and your spouse still agree on the terms of your divorce at the time of the nominal hearing, the court will confirm the statements you made in your complaint at the hearing, and you can move forward with finalizing the divorce. To finalize the divorce after the nominal hearing, you’ll need to submit a Decision Pending Entry and Final Judgment to the court. Your divorce isn’t final until the judge signs and enters these documents as an order.
Rhode Island 3StepDivorce™ provides unlimited, live, person-to-person support for customers. If you have any questions about how uncontested divorce works, call our Rhode Island Divorce Online Help Center at (888) 665-6782 (toll free), Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm (Pacific Time).
Please keep in mind that we are not lawyers and so cannot give out legal advice. If you have questions about Rhode Island law or need legal advice, we recommend that you contact an experienced family law attorney in your area.
3StepDivorce TM is a premium online divorce solution, a sister company of Divorce Source, the owner and operator of the Divorce Source Network, the web's largest and most visited online divorce resource since 1997.
|A sister company of Divorce Source with over 750,000 forms processed since 1997.||Have your completed documents within 1 hour (with or without children)||Instantly print your documents (free delivery by US Priority Mail is also available).||Instantly make changes (gives you full control, the way it should be!)||All required divorce documents ready for signing.|
|Step-by-Step filing procedures (who, what, where & when)||Court approval or your money back (100% guaranteed).||Unlimited toll free phone and email product support.||Online Divorce Organizer & 40+ Self-Help Divorce eBooks||Free Online Negotiation Tool (just in case you can't agree!)|