Call Us - 1-800-680-9052 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

There Are Many Ways to Save When Doing Your Own Divorce in Delaware

When Divorcing in Delaware, spouses are separated even if they live in the same house. However, you cannot share a bedroom or have sexual relations. Using 3StepDivorceTM helps you to prepare the necessary paperwork setting out your divorce grounds and terms that you and your spouse agree to. Filing you own uncontested divorce saves you money; there are also other great ways to lower the cost of a divorce in Delaware.

Delaware Divorce Courts Expect Good Organization

When you file your required Delaware divorce papers with the Clerk in your local courts, the Clerk will expect you to be organized and professional. Keeping all your paperwork together, what you filed, what still needs to be filed, is one way to have your divorce go smoothly through the court system. Keeping copies of all your documents returned also keeps you organized. Being organized will eliminate filing mistakes which can result in multiple trips to the courthouse.

Filing Court Papers by Mail in Delaware Courts

When you file the required paperwork for divorce in Delaware, you can file in person at the courthouse with the Clerk or you can mail the documents with the filing fee. If you file by mail, you will want to make sure you have self addressed stamped envelopes for you and your spouse so the court can time stamp the documents and return them to you and your spouse. Filing by mail often prevents excess time taken off of from work to file in person, because the court is typically only open during the daytime.

A Few Delaware Divorce Documents Must be Notarized

To complete your divorce there are a few documents that you and your spouse need to sign and have notarized. Some documents will need to be signed by both you and your spouse, but those documents do not need to be signed at the same time or place. The Petitioner needs to sign and have the Petition for Divorce/Annulment, Affidavit of Support of Request to Proceed Without a Hearing, the Affidavit of Childrenโ€™s Rights, Custody Separate Statement in Compliance with Title 13, Section 1928 of the Delaware Code, Financial Affidavit, Affidavit of Non-Military Service, and Request to proceed without a Hearing notarized.

Both parties sign and notarize the Marital Settlement Agreement and the Stipulation to Incorporate a Separation Agreement.

The Respondent signs and has the Affidavit of Appearance and Waiver of Rights and Waiver of Rights Under the โ€œServicemembers Civil Relief Actโ€ notarized.

Check with your bank because most of them offer discounted or free notary services to current account holders.

Delaware Courts Waive Filing Fees

Delaware charges a filing fee of about $150, depending on the county you file the divorce paperwork. The filing fee can be waived if you cannot afford to pay the filing fee. You would file the Affidavit in Support of Application to Proceed In Forma Pauperis, which provides the court with information about your finances (assets and liabilities, income and expenses). If the court approves your application, the court will order the action to move forward with out paying the filing fee.

Filing Your Tax Return After Your Delaware Divorce

Now that you have filed for divorce, one issue you will have to think about is who will take advantage of the childcare deductions if you have children. The year you are divorced, you can no longer take advantage of the married, joint filing status and now must file as a single person. These are things to take into consideration when filing for divorce.

Serving Your Delaware Paperwork on Your Spouse

In Delaware, process means delivering the divorce papers to your spouse, personally or by leaving copies at his or her house or usual place of residence with some person of suitable age, or by delivering copies to an authorized agent to receive them.

You can use a Sheriff to serve your spouse or a licensed process server. Hiring the Sheriff or process service to deliver the documents to your spouse may be a little expensive.

Need Legal Help in Delaware

In Delaware if you or your spouse have questions about the legal aspects of the divorce, maybe your rights, or responsibilities, you can contact the Legal Services Corporation of Delaware (LSCD), a non-profit law firm and community education organization. LSCD have offices in Dover, 24A Hiawatha Lane, and you can call them at 302-734-8820; and Wilmington, 100 West 10th Street, Suite 203, with a telephone number 302-575-0408.

Delaware Divorce Mediation

Delaware does not mandate mediation unless both parties cannot agree to the terms of the divorce. Additionally, the court may delay the action for 60 days so the spouses can seek mediation, which often results in more successful settlements since the parties are often committed to the mediated settlement. It is always more cost-effective for you and your spouse to agree to the divorce and all the terms to move through the divorce process without the cost of a hearing or hiring a lawyer.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3 Step Solutions, LLC does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.
Have questions? Call us at 1-800-680-9052
Copyright© 1996-2020. All rights reserved by 3 Step Solutions, LLC
A Sister Company of Divorce Source, Inc. - Since 1997

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorceTM, The Original Online DivorceSM