Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

Can I File for Divorce in Vermont?

What Are the Residency Requirements to File for Divorce in Vermont?
The state of Vermont has unique residency requirements for people who wish to file for divorce. You must meet these state-specific requirements prior to filing with the Family Court for your county in Vermont. The Vermont residency requirements are as follows:

A complaint for divorce or annulment of marriage may be brought if either party to the marriage has resided within the state for a period of six months or more, but a divorce shall not be decreed for any cause, unless the plaintiff or the defendant has resided in the state one year next preceding the date of final hearing. Temporary absence from the state because of illness, employment without the state, service as a member of the armed forces of the United States, or other legitimate and bona fide cause, shall not affect the six months' period or the one year period specified in the preceding sentence, provided the person has otherwise retained residence in this state.

The divorce may be filed in the county in which either the husband, wife or both reside. (Vermont Statutes - Title 15 - Section 555)

If you DO NOT meet at least one of the above Vermont residency requirements, you have the following options:

How Do I Prove Residency in Vermont?
You must live in Vermont 6 months before you can file for divorce in Vermont. The divorce paperwork includes a statement that you are attesting to this fact. If you are asked to prove residency, a lease or rental agreement is acceptable as well as a Vermont driver's license, since you are required to obtain your driverโ€™s license within 60 days of moving to the state, or state identification with your current address.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM