Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

Can I File for Divorce in Michigan?

What Are the Residency Requirements to File for Divorce in Michigan?
The state of Michigan has unique divorce residency requirements for people who wish to terminate their marriage. You must meet these state-specific requirements prior to filing with the Michigan divorce courts. The Michigan residency requirements are as follows:

A judgment of divorce shall not be granted by a court in this state in an action for divorce unless the complainant or defendant has resided in this state for 180 days immediately preceding the filing of the complaint, the complainant or defendant has resided in the county in which the complaint is filed for 10 days immediately preceding the filing of the complaint.

The divorce is typically filed with in county in which the filing spouse lives.

(Michigan Compiled Laws - Section: 552.9)

If you DO NOT meet at least one of the above Michigan residency requirements, you have the following options:

How Do I Prove Residency in Michigan?
When you file for divorce in Michigan, if your spouse does not live in the state, you must prove to the court you are a resident. To be considered a resident of Michigan you must live in the state for 6 months or 180 days and the county for at least 10 days prior to filing for the divorce. If the court requires you to provide proof of your residency, you would need to provide a signed and dated lease or rental agreement, tax returns or property tax paperwork if you own your own home, employment records or letter from your employer or voter registration documentation. For military members who are stationed in Michigan you must live in the state for 180 days or 6 months and 10 days in the county, or you must declare Michigan your home of record.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM