Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

Can I File for Divorce in Massachusetts?

What Are the Residency Requirements to File for Divorce in Massachusetts?
The state of Massachusetts has unique divorce residency requirements for people who wish to terminate their marriage. You must meet these state-specific requirements prior to filing with the Massachusetts divorce court of your county. The Massachusetts residency requirements are as follows:

One of the spouses must be a resident of the state of Massachusetts if the grounds for divorce occurred in Massachusetts. If the grounds for divorce occurred outside the state of Massachusetts then one spouse must be a resident of the state for at least 1 year.

Actions for divorce shall be filed, heard and determined in the probate court, held for the county where one of the parties lives, except that if either party still resides in the county where the parties last lived together, the action shall be heard and determined in a court for that county. In the event of hardship or inconvenience to either party, the court having jurisdiction may transfer such action for hearing to a court in a county in which such party resides.

The divorce is typically filed with in county in which the filing spouse lives.

(Massachusetts General Laws - Chapter 208 - Sections: 4,5 & 6)

If you DO NOT meet at least one of the above Massachusetts residency requirements, you have the following options:

How Do I Prove Residency in Massachusetts?
When establishing residency and trying to prove to the court you are a resident of Massachusetts, the petitioner would provide vehicle registration, a driverโ€™s license with your current address, or any number of other bills with your current Massachusetts address. In the divorce paperwork you are signing, there is a statement testifying that you are a resident of the Commonwealth for one year. If however, the plaintiff domiciled in the Commonwealth and the cause of divorce occurred in Massachusetts, then the plaintiff can file no matter how briefly the plaintiff lived in Massachusetts. It is important to understand, while this last part states you do not have to live a certain amount of time, it also states that the reason for the divorce must have happened in Massachusetts otherwise you need to live in the Commonwealth for 1 year before you can file for divorce. You may be required to prove any cause of the divorce if you are filing less than the one-year residency.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM