Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

Can I File for Divorce in Illinois?

What Are the Residency Requirements to File for Divorce in Illinois?
The state of Illinois has unique divorce residency requirements for people who wish to terminate their marriage. You must meet these state-specific requirements prior to filing with the Circuit Court of the Judicial District in your county. The Illinois residency requirements are as follows:

The court shall enter a judgment of dissolution of marriage as long as one of the spouses was a resident of this State or was stationed in this State while a member of the armed services, and the residence or military presence had been maintained for 90 days prior to filing. The proceedings shall be had in the county where the plaintiff or defendant resides. (750 Illinois Compiled Statutes - Chapter 5 - Sections: 104 and 401)

If you DO NOT meet at least one of the above Illinois residency requirements, you have the following options:

How Do I Prove Residency in Illinois?

By a signed authentication in the divorce papers, the petitioner proves that he or she is a resident of Illinois for at least the past 90 days. If you are required to provide further proof, the court will accept an affidavit by a witness corroborating residency or an Illinois driverโ€™s license with your current address, any tax paperwork showing that you pay taxes with the State, signed and dated lease agreements or utility bills dating back 3 months.

In Illinois, if the action or reason for the divorce happened in the state, and both parties lived in the state at the time of the action or reason for the divorce, then you are considered a resident for filing purposes and you do not need to wait 90 days to file for divorce.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM