Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

Can I File for Divorce in Alabama?

What Are the Residency Requirements to File for Divorce in Alabama?
The state of Alabama has unique residency requirements for people who wish to file for divorce. You must meet these state-specific requirements prior to filing with the Circuit Court for your county in Alabama. The Alabama divorce residency requirements are as follows:

When the defendant is a nonresident, the other party to the marriage must have been a resident of this state of Alabama for six months before the filing of the complaint for divorce.

Complaints for divorce may be filed in the circuit court of the county in which the defendant resides, or in the circuit court of the county in which the parties resided when the separation occurred, or if the defendant is a nonresident, then in the circuit court of the county in which the other party to the marriage resides.

The divorce is typically filed with in county in which the filing spouse lives.

(Code of Alabama - Title 30 - Chapters: 2-4 and 2-5)

If you DO NOT meet at least one of the above Alabama residency requirements, you have the following options:

How Do I Prove Residency in Alabama?

If you want to file for divorce in Alabama, you be a resident of Alabama for at least six months prior to filing the paperwork. To provide the court proof of your residency, an Alabama driver's license or state identification with a current address is sufficient. The court will also accept Federal tax returns filed where you paid income tax to the state of Florida; automobile vehicle registration; State income tax returns, voter registration card, insurance card showing you have a current Alabama address, bank statements or utility bills for the past 6 months.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM