Call Us - 1-800-680-9052 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
or Your
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).


Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

Maine Divorce Online Help Center

If you have questions about how an uncontested divorce in Maine works, please call us toll free at 1-800-680-9052 Mon.- Fri. 9am to 5pm EST.

We provide unlimited support for all of our customers through our Maine Divorce Online Help Center. We take great pride in being able to respond to our customers in a "human" to "human" approach (as you can see, we do not hide our toll free number 1-800-680-9052). We understand the need a customer may have to talk to a person rather than the typical automated voice or e-mail support system. Please keep in mind that we are not lawyers and we do not give out legal advice. If you need legal advice regarding your uncontested divorce in Maine, we recommend that you contact a lawyer in your area.

Can I file for my divorce in the State of Maine?

In almost all cases, you file for a divorce in the state where you reside. This means that if you are a resident of Maine, you file in Maine and are governed by Maine's divorce laws even if you were married, for example, in California.

You must meet Maine's residency requirement for a Maine court to have jurisdiction over your divorce.

Will Maine 3StepDivorce™ work in my situation?

Maine 3StepDivorce™ works as long as both you and your spouse agree about everything, and both of you are willing to sign the divorce paperwork.

You do not have to sign the papers together, at the same time and place, but the Maine 3StepDivorce™ requires both spouses to sign.

Does Maine 3StepDivorce™ work if I have children?

It sure does. The Maine 3StepDivorce™ allows you to address all issues regarding children, including but not limited to, physical and legal custody, visitation and support, care, health insurance and tax deductions.

Do I need a lawyer to file for divorce in Maine?

Thousands of people divorce in Maine every year without hiring a lawyer.

When spouses cannot agree about the terms and conditions of their divorce, they sometimes end up in court where a judge makes decisions for them. This is called a contested divorce, and hiring a lawyer is a good idea in this case.

When a Maine divorce case is uncontested - when you and you spouse agree about everything - filing your own divorce is an option to decrease legal expenses. Read about the advantages of filing your own uncontested divorce in Maine.

What are the residency requirements for a Maine divorce?

The residency requirements for a divorce in Maine are as follows:

1) The Plaintiff has lived in Maine "in good faith" for six months prior to the start of the action. 2) The Plaintiff is a resident and the parties were married in the state. 3) The Plaintiff is a resident and the parties resided in Maine when the cause of the divorce happened. 4) The Defendant is a resident of the state. The divorce may be filed in either county in which the parties reside.

Must I prove that I am a resident of Maine in order to file for my divorce?

Yes. The divorce paperwork requires a signed authentication that you have been a resident of Maine for at least the past six months (if applicable).

This is a state law.

Signing false statements is perjury.

If the court requires proof for some reason, typically a Maine driver's license or state identification is sufficient. An affidavit of a corroborating witness testifying about your residency also works.

What if my spouse does not live in Maine?

Your spouse does not need to live in Maine to use 3StepDivorce™. After you have printed all the divorce paperwork, you simply mail the documents to your spouse and he or she signs them. After your spouse returns them, you file in your local county court.

Very often divorcing spouses live in different states.

What are the grounds for filing a divorce in Maine?

The grounds for divorce in Maine are as follows:

No Fault: Irreconcilable marital differences

Fault: a) adultery, 2) impotence, c) extreme cruelty, d) utter desertion continued for three years before the start of the action, e) gross and confirmed habits of intoxication or drug abuse, f) nonsupport, when one spouse has sufficient ability to provide for the other spouse and grossly, wantonly and cruelly refuses or neglects to provide suitable maintenance for the complaining spouse, g) cruel and abusive treatment, h) mental illness requiring confinement in a mental institution for at least seven consecutive years.

How long does a divorce take in Maine?

Once the divorce paperwork has been filed in court, it usually takes 30 to 90 days for a divorce to be final. The start to finish time of the divorce may vary depending on the caseload of the court and the availability of judges to sign the final Judgment of Divorce.

3StepDivorce™ saves time because all lengthy delivery times are eliminated when you print your documents from your computer. You control revisions and reprintings as necessary.

Do I have to appear in court?

In Maine, a divorce hearing is not typically required unless you and your spouse have children. If there are children involved, a short hearing, generally about 15 minutes, gives the court an opportunity to make certain that you understand the parameters of custody, visitation and support that are ordered as part of your divorce.

If there are no children, the process in very streamlined. Since you and your spouse are in agreement, there is nothing for the court to decide. Learn more about divorce hearings in Maine

After my divorce, how long do I have to wait in Maine before I can remarry?

There is no mandatory waiting period in Maine.

Does Maine permit a name change as part of the divorce?

Yes. 3StepDivorce™ includes a protocol for the wife to take back her former or birth name as part of the filing. It is easier to effect a name change during the divorce rather than after the divorce is finalized. Read more about a name change during a divorce in Maine.

Does Maine 3StepDivorce™ address the division of our property and debt?

Separate and marital property and debt is identified and addressed in your 3StepDivorce™ account. A series of questions itemizes property and debt, dividing and allocating both according to what you and your spouse have agreed to. The answers become part of the divorce documents, so it is clear to you, your spouse and the court how assets and liabilities are to be divided.

Will I be able to address our retirement accounts?

Yes. You answer a few questions dealing with individual retirement accounts. You have the option of waiving rights to each other's account(s), or dividing any marital portion of an account by a specific percentage or a dollar amount.

What about the marital home?

Once again, a few questions inside your account deal with the disposition of the marital home. All possible scenarios are covered -- sale, planned sale, transfer from one spouse to the other, and co-ownership.

Will I be able to address spousal support?

A few questions in your account deal with temporary or permanent spousal support. Rights to spousal support may be waived, or a couple can agree to a specific amount for a set period of time. These questions define and limit the parameters of the desired spousal support, which often terminates upon remarriage or cohabitation.

Does Maine require child support?

Maine requires that a support order be put in place for all minor children.

3StepDivorce™ provides the Maine Child Support Guideline Worksheet, so you can easily calculate the state's recommendation for monthly support, but you have the option of taking these recommendations under advisement. The courts realize that you and your spouse know your situation better than they do, so they may approve any reasonable support amount, even if it is different from the one on the state worksheet.

How do I calculate how much child support I owe?

We provide Maine Child Support Worksheets inside your account. These worksheets make it very easy to calculate a monthly support amount. The support calculation is based on a number of variables, but the primary one is income.

Once you have calculated the amount, you and your spouse decide if you want to deviate from it and the reasons for doing so.

Can I deviate from the Maine child support guideline?

Yes. Once you and your spouse agree to a monthly child support amount, a judge reviews your decision. He or she will accept it if it seems reasonable. However, if it seems too high or too low, the judge will want an explanation why the two of you came to amount so much at variance from the state guidelines. Your explanation and reasons for it determine whether or not the judge accepts your proposed child support amount.

How do I know when I can deviate from the Maine child support guidelines?

Maine permits deviation from its child support guidelines for a number of reasons including 1) the application of the Child Support Guidelines would not be "in the child's best interest"; 2) there are more than six children involved; 3) the "interrelation of total suuport, the division of property and an award of spousal support"; 4) the financial resources of the child; 5) the financial resources of a party, "including nonrecurring income not included in the definition of gross income"; 6) "the standard of living each child would have enjoyed had the marital relationship continued"; 7) "the physical and emotional conditions of each child"; 8) "the educational needs of each child"; 9) inflation; 10) available income and financial contributions of the domestic associate or current spouse of each party"; 11) other persons who are financially dependent on either party; 12) the tax benefits to the obligor; 13) calculations of rates of return for "nonincome producing assets with an aggregate fair market value of $10,000 or more"; 14) "special circumstances" for a child 12 or older, including day care; 15) visitation expenses; and 16) "[a] finding by the court or hearing officer that the application of the support guidelines would be unjust, inappropriate and not in the child's best interest."

In Maine, can child custody arrangements be modified after the divorce?

Yes. Child support can be modified based on a change in circumstances. In Maine, a change in circumstances means "a significant change in circumstances," generally, changes "not considered when the original judgment was entered" that are "permanent and substantial" and/or "affect one's current standard of living."

In Maine, can child custody arrangements be modified after the divorce?

Yes. Child custody arrangements can be modified when, for example, they break down because of the conduct of one of the former spouses.

Can we customize our child custody arrangements?

Yes. The terms and conditions of both sole and joint/shared custody are defined by you and your spouse.

Can we specify our visitation/parenting time schedule?

Yes. You can either use a standard schedule that we provide in your account, or you can use our option to customize your own.

In Maine, do any or all of the divorce documents need to be notarized?

Yes. Some of the divorce papers need to be notarized. The step-by-step filing instructions explain who signs what and whether a particular document needs to be notarized. The documents requiring notarization contain notary clauses below individual signature lines.

Do my spouse and I have to sign and/or notarize the documents at the same time and/or place?

No. If desired, each of you may sign and/or notarize a document at a different time and/or place.

As mentioned, very frequently spouses sign and notarize the documents at different times and places because they live apart in different states. This happens often, for example, when one of them has moved or is in the military.

In Maine, where do I file?

In Maine, the divorce papers are filed in the District Court, _____________ County, which is the local county courthouse, where the Domestic Relations or Family Law department accepts the divorce filing. The divorce documents are submitted to the Clerk of the Courts. You pay a filing fee, and the clerk assigns the case a case number.

What is the filing fee in Maine?

The filing fee is about $120. If you want to know the exact amount, you can call the courthouse and ask.

Filing fees underwrite the cost of the court system, but in the case of indigent petitioners these fees may be waived.

How can the fees be waived?

Normally, an indigent petitioner completes a very short form at the time of filing. This form asks the court to waive the fees because of financial hardship.

Can I stop a divorce in Maine once I sign up?

Yes. If you have signed up but not filed any divorce papers, then nothing must be done. If you have initiated the action by filing the Complaint for Divorce, your case can be dismissed by petitioning the court to do so. Normally, this can only be done by the filing spouse and must be done in writing.

Often the clerk of the court can help a person remove a case from the court docket.

What documents do I receive with my Maine 3StepDivorce™ account?

The Maine 3StepDivorce™ includes the following documents:

- Maine Filing Instructions
- Court Information and Addresses
- Confidential Family Matter Summary Sheet
- Complaint for Divorce (With Children)
- Affidavit Concerning Child Custody
- UCCJEA Information Sheet
- Child Support Affidavit (Plaintiff)
- Child support Affidavit (Defendant)
- Certificate Regarding Real Estate
- Certificate in Lieu of Case Management Conference
- Acknowledgement of Receipt of Summons and Complaint
- Entry of Appearance
- Marital Settlement Agreement
- Schedule for Visitation of Minor Children
- Child Support Schedule
- Child Support Worksheet
- Supplemental Child Support Worksheet
- Judgment of Divorce

Read more about the Maine Divorce Papers

Copyright Notice: The above questions and answers regarding Maine divorce is original material which is owned an copyrighted by 3 Step Solutions, LLC. This material has been adapted from applicable state laws and unauthorized reproduction is prohibited. Violation of this notice will result in immediate legal action.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).


Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3 Step Solutions, LLC does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.
Have questions? Call us at 1-800-680-9052
Copyright© 1996-2020. All rights reserved by 3 Step Solutions, LLC
A Sister Company of Divorce Source, Inc. - Since 1997

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorceTM, The Original Online DivorceSM