Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

MICHIGAN DIVORCE HEARINGS AND COURT APPEARANCES

In an uncontested Michigan divorce, which is filed in the Circuit Court, the plaintiff must attend at least one short hearing before a judge will enter a final Judgment for Divorce. The judge ask a few questions in the form of court testimony of the plaintiff in order to make sure that the court has proper jurisdiction of the case and that the marriage is definitely broken. The plaintiff will be expected to confirm his or her residency, the marriage date, and grounds for the divorce so it is on record reinforcing the statements that are presented in the filed divorce papers.

In a contested divorce case, the parties can expect to go to Michigan divorce court much more frequently because there is a discovery process as well as the court potentially having to decide on disputed issues after presentation from each side in a courtroom setting.

The plaintiff should make sure he or she attends any scheduled hearings. This will allow the divorce to move through the court in streamlined fashion. A hearing for an uncontested divorce case is very short, but missing it would mean you get back in line and it could be another month until it is rescheduled (not to mention it goes on record with the judge). The defendant does not need to attend a hearing if his or her notarized answer and waiver was filed with the court. The answer and waiver provides enough proof to the court that the defendant is well aware of the divorce and the terms set forth in the Judgment of Divorce and the Marital Settlement Agreement (MSA). Learn more about attending a Michigan divorce hearing.

Other Helpful Information for Doing Your Own Divorce in Michigan

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM