Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

MASSACHUSETTS DIVORCE HEARINGS AND COURT APPEARANCES

After the required uncontested divorce paperwork for Massachusetts has been filed in Probate Court, both spouses must attend a short hearing to finalize their divorce. The judge reviews the particulars of the case and the divorce. The judge makes a ruling right away, finding that the marriage is irretrievably broken and that the Marital Settlement Agreement signed by both parties is not product of duress or coercion, and it is fair and reasonable.

When one spouse cannot attend the hearing, he or she can file an affidavit asking to be excused. However, such requests are generally only granted when the non-attending spouse lives far enough away that traveling to MA divorce court is cost prohibitive or if that spouse is physically unable to travel.

In a Massachusetts uncontested divorce, the judge explains to the spouses that a Judgment of Divorce will enter in 30 days and will become effective 90 days later. In a contested divorce action there is a waiting period of 120 days after 30 days of entering the Judgment of Divorce for the divorce is to be final. If the divorce started as a contested divorce, then the judgment becomes final 90 days after the hearing.

During the 90 or 120 day period of time, the parties remain married and cannot remarry. After the expiration of that waiting period (called the Nisi period), they will automatically be divorced. Learn more about attending a Massachusetts divorce hearing.

Other Helpful Information for Doing Your Own Divorce in Massachusetts

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
This is a non-lawyer self-help divorce solution. The 3StepDivorce software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and the information provided on this site is not legal advice. The software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use, Supplemental Payment Terms, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.
Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce