Call Us - 1-800-680-9052 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

CONSIDERING A DIVORCE IN FLORIDA?

If you are considering getting a divorce in Florida, the Sunshine State makes divorce fairly easy because it is a no-fault state only, which means that you can get a divorce by stating that the marriage is irretrievably broken. Since all Florida divorces are no-fault, it comes down to whether you want to hire a lawyer to handle the divorce or do it yourself. After you consider all your concerns, a lot depends on your situation, and whether you and your partner can agree about the issues readying the divorce and both are willing to sign the divorce papers. When you can work together, it is an ideal situation to prepare your own divorce forms and file your own divorce without a lawyer in order to save both time and money.

Advantages of Doing Your Own (Pro Se) Divorce in Florida

Filing a Pro Se divorce means you are representing yourself in your divorce case. The same procedures are followed, whether or not you have legal representation, but the only difference is you complete and file the divorce paperwork on your own.

Many people decide to file their own pro se divorce in Florida. Florida carries one of the highest pro se divorce filing rates in the U.S, especially when the divorce is uncontested.

Expense is the chief reason people chose to file pro se divorce in Florida.

1. Cost. The main cost of an uncontested divorce in Florida is the filing fee of $350 to $410, depending on the county of filing. When you are filing Divorce by Publication, you will also have your advertisement fees. A Divorce by Publication is your option when you cannot locate your spouse.

2. Control. Florida is a no-fault state, which means that no one has to prove that anyone did anything to cause the divorce. Because Florida is a no fault divorce state, you can mutually agree to divorce without a great deal of publicity. You control how your issues are resolved, by coming to an agreement with your spouse. The judge or court does not step in and make decisions for you.

3. Issues. When filing an uncontested divorce in a no-fault state like Florida, there are no advantages or disadvantages as to one person filing or the other.

4. Popularity. In Florida, filing a pro se divorce, the judge will grant the divorce, provided all issues are agreed to and resolved, at least 20 days after you file the paperwork. This quick and easy process which is streamlined by the court makes pro se filing in Florida extremely common.

5. Ease. Chapter 61 of the Florida Statutes allows pro se divorce litigants to advocate on their own behalf in a divorce proceeding. Under Section 12.901, self-representing litigants must file a Petition with the family law court, giving the other spouse time to respond. The Petition is the formal document that officially request the court to grant a divorce.

In Florida, you can still file pro se even if you do not know where your spouse is living. Divorce by Publication provides you with the necessary paperwork and process to file with a missing spouse. There are still very strict procedures to follow but the ease of filing pro se through the Florida court system makes filing for your own divorce less taxing. When filing a Divorce by Publication you are required to prove due diligence in locating your spouse.

4. Pre-Divorce Mediation. In Florida, a large number of divorcing couples opt for mediation rather than trial. Pro se litigants do not need to hire an attorney, but may still require legal assistance before entering mediation. The unrepresented parties hire a qualified mediator who will steer them toward a divorce settlement. Pro se mediation typically involves about three sessions dealing with writing a marital settlement agreement, and a parenting plan.

Deciding to Hire a Lawyer for Your Divorce in Florida

When you have a little chance of coming to an amicable divorce, a lawyer shows you both sides of the coin - your rights and your responsibilities in the marriage and divorce.

In Florida, about 5,000 attorneys - about 6 percent of all Florida Bar's 102,000 members -- are board certified for Family Law. Not all qualified family law attorneys are board certified, but those who are have taken the extra step to have their competence and experience independently evaluated. The Florida Bar states that board certified lawyers are "evaluated for professionalism and tested for expertise," which provides an objective measure when selecting the best attorney for your case. When looking for the best divorce or family law attorney for your particular case, a person should consider asking about board certification by the Florida Bar Board of Legal Specialization and Education.

A board certified specialist may be the person you need to assess your situation. Especially if your marital estate worth is rather high or your have contentious child related issues. Also, for example, he or she may be the person to advise you if your divorce also involves a bankruptcy, as it sometimes does.

Selecting a lawyer can be challenging. Some people turn to family and friends for a recommendation. One place to start is the Florida Bar, which is located at 651 East Jefferson Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399. The website is www.fkoriudabar.org. The bar can give you the word on a lawyer's standing and any disciplinary actions against him or her. Or you may want to call the local county bar association, which may refer you to list of divorce specialists.

Many lawyers offer an initial consultation at no or little cost , but be sure to understand your arrangement prior to your first office appointment.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3 Step Solutions, LLC does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.
Have questions? Call us at 1-800-680-9052
Copyright© 1996-2020. All rights reserved by 3 Step Solutions, LLC
A Sister Company of Divorce Source, Inc. - Since 1997

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorceTM, The Original Online DivorceSM