Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

NAME CHANGE DURING A PRO SE DIVORCE IN THE STATE OF ALASKA

In Alaska the court may restore the previous name of either spouse by either a Judgment of Divorce or Decree of Dissolution of Marriage. An adult's name may be returned to a previous name as part of a divorce or dissolution proceeding, otherwise it must be done in a separate Change of Name Case using the court packet Adult Change of Name Packet (CIV-698). [Alaska Statutes; Sections 25.24.165 and 25.24.230]

“In a judgment in an action for divorce or action declaring a marriage void, the court may change the name of either of the parties.” When a party “seeks a change of name to a name other than a prior name,” the regime becomes more complicated and it includes a “hearing not less than 40 days after filing of the action” and publication of a notice of the application for a change of name to a name published once each week for four consecutive calendar weeks before the hearing in a newspaper of general circulation in the judicial district.” The court may also require posting of the notice at locations it considers appropriate.

The court authorizes the new name not less than 30 days after handing down the judgment when it is satisfied that no reasonable objection exists to the new name. The party shall publish notice of the approval of the name change in a newspaper of general circulation in the judicial district within 10 days after issuance of the judgment. The court may also require the posting of a copy of the judgment.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
This is a non-lawyer self-help divorce solution. The 3StepDivorce software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and the information provided on this site is not legal advice. The software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use, Supplemental Payment Terms, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy. Do Not Sell My Personal Information.
Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce