Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

QUICK TIPS FOR FILING YOUR NEW JERSEY DIVORCE PAPERS

Online Divorce Tips for New Jersey
1. Things to Remember for Filing New Jersey Divorce Documents

  1. Keep a dated record of when each step was completed and retain a copy of all receipts.
  2. Make several copies of the completed documents for future use and reference.
  3. Be sure you have the "Docket Number" filled in before filing any documents.
  4. Be sure you have the "Court Title" filled in before filing any documents.
  5. Be sure all the criteria/information is correct to the best of your knowledge.
  6. Be sure all the documents are signed, dated, and if necessary notarized.
  7. Be sure all documents are filed in the correct order according to the instructions below.
  8. Do not hesitate to ask questions at the County Clerk's Office of the Superior Court. The employees there are the ones who will be facilitating your divorce. They fully understand the divorce process, and should answer your questions. Do not expect them to answer legal related questions, because they are not lawyers and they will immediately tell you that they do not provide legal advice.

2. Initial Divorce Case Informational Forms for New jersey

There are a few standard divorce forms that must be completed by you and your spouse.

Civil Case Information Statement (CIS) - This is a universal form used throughout the state and must be completed and submitted when filing your Complaint for Divorce.

Case Information Statement - This is also a universal form that provides all the information pertinent to your case. When you glance at this, it may seem quite overwhelming at first, but you will be surprised how quickly and easily it can be completed. Both you and your spouse MUST complete and file your own Case Information Statement.

Cover Letter to Clerk - This is a short letter that prefaces your Complaint for Divorce and other documents when you initially file them with the Court. We suggest using it whether you plan to mail or hand deliver the documents when you file for your divorce.

3. Reviewing the Documents

Each one of your documents should be reviewed for accuracy and completeness. Many of the documents are legal binding documents, so once they are signed you are obligated to what is stated by a court of law. Do not sign any of the documents unless you completely understand what they are conveying.

When reviewing the documents required by the state of New Jersey you will notice the Marital Settlement Agreement is the longest of them all. This document outlines and resolves the issues of your divorce. It is a legal binding agreement between you and your spouse and must be signed and notarized. This document WILL NOT be submitted to the Court until you have served your spouse the Complaint for Divorce and he or she has responded by filing an Appearance with the Court. This means that you will have some time to negotiate and settle all your issues during this period. In is not uncommon to have several versions of the Agreement (MSA) before final version is ready.

If you do not understand something or can not come to agreement (after lengthy negotiating) with your spouse, it is a wise choice to consult a lawyer in your area, because it would appear that your divorce is no longer uncontested or as amicable as one thought.

4. Having the Documents Notarized and Getting Organized

Once you have reviewed all of the documents, it is time to go before a Notary Public.

Make four (4) copies of each of the following documents for your initial filing procedure (copies should be made of the original after signing):

Once you have signed and dated the documents, take one of each and staple them together in the upper left corner in the exact order above. Do not use a paper clip, because if they do fall apart, it may get a little confusing. You now have four packets of the documents: one for you, one to be served on your spouse, one to file with the County Clerk's Office of the Superior Court, and one extra copy just in case you need it!

5. Filing the Initial Documents With the Court

The originals (not the photocopies) will be filed with the County Clerk's Office of the Superior Court. You may also be required to file a copy of your "Marriage License", so be sure to have one ready and available. If you need to get this, it is typically accessible through the county court house within the records department in which you got married.

When filing your documents, you will be assigned your Docket Number and this must be included on all the documents you file. Also ask for the Judge's (Master's or Referee's) name, so you can also include it on all the documents. If they do not have the Judge's name or it is not required in your county, then just leave it blank. Sometimes, due to case load, the County Clerk's Office of the Superior Court will not know who will be assigned to your case.

If for some reason you are requested to complete a few other standard forms or make minor changes or additions to your existing forms, be sure to comply, do not get upset or frustrated, because you only have these people to help you. These additional forms will be short and can often be completed in the office at the time of filing.

There is a fee for filing and that fee varies from county to county and depending upon your divorce situation. Your situation typically yields a lower filing fee, because you and your spouse are in agreement and filing an uncontested divorce.

After you have filed the Complaint for Divorce and the other documents, you will be require by state law to serve the documents onto your spouse. This may be done through the Sheriffs Office immediately at the Clerk's Office or you can choose to have a professional/private process server do this for you. There is a fee for this and it does vary from county to county. The process of serving your spouse the documents will show the court that you have made your spouse aware that you are filing for divorce.

Once your spouse is served the Complaint for Divorce and the other documents, he or she will have a defined period of time (typically 35 days) in which he or she must file the Appearance, and a Case Information Statement with the court. He or she must also have a copy of these documents served onto you to prove to the court that you (as the filing spouse) have been notified of the response to the Complaint for Divorce.

6. The Marital Settlement Agreement

The next step is to have the Marital Settlement Agreement fully executed, which means that both you and your spouse sign date and notarize the legal binding document (the MSA).

New Jersey Divorce Online Process
7. Child Support Worksheet

You must complete a "New Jersey Child Support Worksheet". Calculating child support involves addition and subtraction and should be carefully reviewed once the obligation amount has been determined. Please keep in mind, that you may deviate from the results of the worksheet if you and your spouse agree to do so.

CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES - SHARED PARENTING WORKSHEET - This is the document that must be completed if you and your spouse will have a shared physical custody arrangement.

CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES - SOLE PARENTING WORKSHEET - This is the document that must be completed if you and your spouse will have a sole physical custody arrangement.

BASIC CHILD SUPPORT AWARD SCHEDULE - You must reference this schedule when completing either of the above worksheets.

CHILD CARE WORKSHEET - This is the document that must be completed if you and your spouse will declare an obligation for each spouse for child care that is above and beyond the actual child support obligation.

COMBINED TAX WITHHOLDING TABLES - This is a table that may help you determine the standard tax withholding from wages.

CONSIDERATIONS IN THE USE OF CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES - This provides explanation and instructions according to the state guidelines.

8. Family Part Case Information Statements

This is a required form for all cases that involve child support. The document will provide the information needed to aid the judge in deciding whether or not the child support obligation amount you have set forth in the Marital Settlement Agreement is adequate.

9. Judgment of Divorce

This is the document along with your Marital Settlement Agreement that will be submitted to the Court for approval. Once these documents are reviewed, the Judge will sign the Judgment of Divorce and you and your spouse will be divorced. Be sure you and your spouse sign the decree. This will further prove to the Court that this case is uncontested and all of the issues are resolved.

10. Submitting the Final Documents to the Court

You will submit the following dated and signed documents to the Clerk's Office for the Judge to review and approve (it is also at this time you will be given a hearing date):

The Judge, after careful review of the above documents, will grant you your divorce under the conditions of the Judgment of Divorce and Marital Settlement Agreement.

11. The Hearing

On your hearing date you will be given a location to go to and a time to appear in front of a Judge (Master or Referee) of the Family Court. The Judge will have everything pertaining to your case that has been filed on hand. It is at this hearing you will present the following documents:

The Judge, after careful review, will grant you your divorce under the conditions of the Judgment of Divorce presented. You may be required to give short testimony at the hearing. Giving testimony can be a stressful experience, so a step-by-step outline to follow on paper is always recommended. Do not be alarmed if the Judge begins to ask you questions. He or she should do so in order to make sure you are in full understanding of the legal issues at hand. The Judge will know that you and your spouse have not been represented by legal counsel, so he or she will want to make sure you understand everything. Remember you are "pro se", which means you represent yourself.

12. Finalizing the Divorce

Once the Judge has agreed to sign your Judgment of Divorce you are officially divorced! If for some reason the judge does not agree with the Judgment of Divorce (this almost never happens in an uncontested divorce) do not worry, the Judge will discuss the issues at hand and request a few adjustments to be made. You simply leave the hearing and make the minor adjustments and file the modified Judgment of Divorce, at which point the Judge will sign it at a later date and grant your divorce.

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM