Call Us - (888) 665-6782 How it Works (Short Video) START NOW
Court
Approval
or Your
Money
Back
A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
Watch Video Read Reviews Is This Your 1st Divorce? Is It For You? Demo

CONSIDERING A DIVORCE IN WISCONSIN?

When you decide to end a marriage in Wisconsin, you have the option to file a Joint Petition for Divorce as long as both of you state under oath or affirmation that the marriage is irretrievably broken. Under this circumstance it is very common for spouses to file their own paperwork with the court without hiring a lawyer because the filing process is very streamlined with the courts.

Naturally, you should consider everything, and it comes down to whether you want to do your own divorce or hire a lawyer. A lot depends whether you and your spouse can work together or if an amicable experience is unrealistic. If you can work towards the common goal of ending the marriage with a fair settlement, you can easily file your own divorce in Wisconsin and save a ton of money and time.

Advantages of Doing Your Own Divorce in Wisconsin

Filing a Pro Se divorce in Wisconsin means you are representing yourself in your divorce case without a lawyer. With or without legal representation, the divorce filing procedures and rules that you are required to follow are identical. The only difference is, when you do your own divorce you are expected to prepare your own divorce papers and you file them with the Clerk of the Court. You are doing the little bit of the legwork, that you would otherwise be billed for by a law office at an hourly rate.

Before you even consider handling your own divorce, you should examine the legal aspects of your situation. If you are not able to keep your emotions out of the decision making, it is best to hire a divorce attorney. You should only consider filing for divorce yourself if you and your spouse are getting an uncontested divorce and are both working towards a fair settlement.

1. Cost. By filing a divorce yourself you are avoiding the cost of hiring a lawyer. The national average cost of a contested divorce in the United States has been noted to be around $15,000. This is hard to believe, but a contested divorce can be drawn out and often requires a lot of discovery and negotiation before a settlement is reached. This takes time, which equals money spent on legal fees. Even an uncontested divorce with legal representation can cost $1,500 to $3,000. With the filing fees in Wisconsin being in a range from $180-$229, your divorce can cost as little as $500-$600 when you use 3StepDivorceTM to help you prepare the required paperwork to file your own divorce.

2. Control. In Wisconsin, filing yourself is appealing because if either of you maintain that your marriage is irretrievably broken, the other spouse cannot stop the divorce. Wisconsin has a no-fault divorce law: the only ground for divorce is that the marriage is irretrievably broken; however, the court may adjourn the matter for 30 to 60 days and suggest that the spouses seek counseling or order the spouses to undergo counseling if one spouse does not want the divorce. This adjournment happens if one of you claims that the marriage is irretrievably broken but the other claims it is not. If at the subsequent hearing either of you state that the marriage is irretrievably broken, the court will find that the marriage is irretrievably broken and the divorce will proceed. If the both of you can agree, you can control the filing of the paperwork that states the marriage is irretrievably broken and the divorce is typically finalized in 30-90 days depending on how busy the courthouse is. You would eliminate office visits with a lawyer and any lengthy delays caused by other client interruptions. You are in complete control.

3. Ease. The Joint Petition option is available only in a few other states, which is why Wisconsin is very popular to file for a divorce yourself. The courts have made getting a divorce easier, which makes the paperwork and filing process less confusing.

Deciding to Hire a Lawyer for Your Divorce in Wisconsin

A lawyer has the ability it explain your rights and responsibilities in your marriage and divorce.

Wisconsin is the only state in the United States where law students attending accredited law schools located in the state are automatically licensed to practice law as soon as they graduate from law school. Once these law graduates become licensed, they are required to join the State Bar of Wisconsin, which has 23,525 members who all work in different legal practice areas.

Selecting a lawyer can be challenging. Some turn to an experienced divorce practitioner, for example, the specialist who may advise you of local rulings in divorce cases.

You can call the State Bar of Wisconsin Lawyer Referral and Information Service (LRIS). You search for an attorney by geographical location and area of legal practice. At the State Bar of Wisconsin (www.wis.br.org) you can search for a lawyer based on a number of parameters, such as name, city and field of law.

Lawyers referred through LRIS will charge no more than $20 for your first consultation up to one half-hour. After you receive your referral, you call the attorney's office to schedule an appointment you should tell the attorney that you were referred by the State Bar's LRIS.

The bar can give you the word on a lawyer's standing and any disciplinary actions against him or her. The Office of Lawyer Regulation (OLR) can only handle grievances against attorneys who are licensed to practice law in the State of Wisconsin. For contact information regarding lawyer disciplinary agencies in other states, go to http://www.abanet.org/cpr/disciplinary.html

A Simple Divorce Process
Step 1 See if you qualify & create account!
Step 2 Answer the questions at your own pace.
Step 3 Print, sign and file your divorce forms with your local court (instantly review & print your forms online or have them sent US Priority Mail at no additional charge).

START HERE

Only $299 (flat-fee)

or 2 monthly payments of $157
or 3 monthly payments of $109
or 4 monthly payments of $84
Payment Options Do Not Delay Divorce
Instant Delivery - Instant Changes
100% Guarantee of Court Approval
or Your Money Back
As seen on Forbes, USA Today, CNN and NPR
Disclaimer: This is a quality non-lawyer self-help online divorce solution. The 3StepDivorceTM Documentation software and service is not a substitute for the advice of a lawyer. 3StepDivorce does not practice law and does not give out legal advice. This online divorce software and service allows you to represent yourself in doing your own divorce. If you need or desire legal representation, we recommend that you hire a lawyer. Click here to learn more. There may also be other pro se divorce options available by contacting your court.

Terms & Conditions | Supplementary Payment Terms | Privacy

Have questions? Call us at (888) 665-6782
Copyright© 1996-2021. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce

Powered With Experience & Built By Trust - 3StepDivorce TM, The Original Online Divorce SM